Lesser-known Video Game Soundtracks: The 7th Guest (PC/CD-i/Mac OS)

Well, I don’t necessarily know if this is LESSER known considering I’m willing to bet most of us played this game.  Either way, I wanted to highlight George “The Fat Man” Sanger’s music for this game.  Luckily, I quickly found a complete dump of all the tracks on YouTube…. so now you can all enjoy it!

(credit:  JisengSo)

Hooray for RedBook audio!  If you’ve played the game, you will instantly recognize the tunes.  I never realized until today how “grunge” the music feels.  I’ve been searching for a long time to find a game that actually employs a complete “grunge” soundtrack, as I don’t think it has ever been done before.  Quite interesting, considering how popular the genre was.

At any rate, special thanks to fellow Beta Test musician Mark Zelesky for reminding me about how awesome this game is.  Sorry for the lack of updates, by the way!  Been mega busy.  Lots of great things going on with Beta Test and what not.  I’ll keep everyone posted!

About Classical Gaming

Steve Lakawicz holds an MM in Music Performance from Temple University as well as a BM in Tuba Performance from Rutgers University . His teachers include Paul Scott, Scott Mendoker, and Jay Krush. His love of video game music has lead him to form a blog, Classical Gaming, to promote discussion both casual and academic about the music of video games. He is the co-founder of the video game/nerd music chamber ensemble, Beta Test Music and regularly composes/performs chiptune music as Ap0c. He currently resides in Philadelphia where he teaches college statistics at Temple University. View all posts by Classical Gaming

4 responses to “Lesser-known Video Game Soundtracks: The 7th Guest (PC/CD-i/Mac OS)

  • refalare

    I always thought that the OST of Comix Zone for the Sega Genesis was totally grunge.
    It is a very popular game, so probably you already know it, but in case you don’t, check it out. Full ost in one handy video:

    The FM synthesis makes good “dirty” electric guitars and deep bass, like those used in the grunge.

    And by the way, I really like your blog, as a musician and chiptune entusiast, is really nice to find others like me.

    • Classical Gaming

      Hey man! Yeah, the OST to Comix Zone is probably the only other example I can think of a truly “grunge” soundtrack. I’m surprised there weren’t many others… I guess the MegaDrive/Genesis was probably the best scenario for this because a lot of the games were actually produced by UK/US programmers and sound guys.

      Glad you like it! You should also check out my band (which you can find at betatestmusic.com). We play video game covers and stuff with NES audio. Kind of fun! Glad there’s people out there who are so into this stuff too haha!

      • refalare

        Hey, hello, again.
        I just checked your band. I like what I hear.
        You guys have a pretty unique sound, I have not heard anything like that in the “videogame cover world”.
        And I like that you cover Super Mario land music. That’s what we need. Everybody covers music from Super Mario bros. but not SML. This could be a really good start point, for you guys. If you had a full album covering SML music with that same quality, I would buy it.
        Well, see you around, my friend.

      • Classical Gaming

        Thanks man! We’ve been debating dropping something like that in the future. Hearing that someone really likes our SML mix really means a lot to me because it’s one of my favorites too haha. Rock on! We also just got some of the video from our last performance so here’s us playing a Pokemon – Red/Blue medley I arranged. 🙂 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lEITrwagZyU

Leave a Reply

