FIVE BIRTHDAY TRACKS

So today is my birthday!

Passed along to my Facebook by Chipocrite. I’m not sure what it is supposed to be… but it’s perfect!

I’ve decided, as a birthday present to myself, to post 5 of my favorite video game tracks of all time… or just 5 really awesome tracks that come to mind.  And of course, they are mostly battle themes.  But what do you expect?

Track 1:  “The True Mirror” – Baten Kaitos – by Motoi Sakuraba

(credit:  suiriryoku)

Motoi has always turned up the intensity to 11… sometimes to a fault perhaps.  Still, this used to be my favorite “getting onto the subway” music when I was doing my MMus.

Track 2:  “Feldschlacht I” – Saga Frontier 2 – by Masashi Hamauzu

(credit:  BaichoyProductions)

Part of Hamauzu’s 4 “Feldschlacht” set for Saga Frontier 2, not including the orchestral “Feldschlact V”.  I had trouble picking my favorite- I or IV.  I love the part where the bass just rocks out for a while at 1:15.  As a bass player, very satisfying!  I spend a lot of time trying to play that line as a kid, with very little success.  Really fun though!

Track 3:  “Intrude Upon Happiness, Plunder the Future” – Wild Arms XF – by Junpei Fujita

(credit:  AnimeOtaku999)

Probably wasn’t expecting to see something that’s just straight-up electronica here.  This theme plays during some of the most intense battles in Wild Arms XF.  The bassline and chords at 1:40… well, it’s probably one of the best 10 seconds I can remember in a battle theme.  The rest isn’t… that innovative.  Honorable mention from this OST:  “Twilight of the Anti-Hero”.  If you haven’t heard the OST to this game, you probably should go listen.  It’s pretty ridiculous.

Track 4:  “Fighters of the Crystal” – Final Fantasy XI: Rise of Zilart – by Naoshi Mizuta

(credit:  kaoz1024)

For those of you who don’t know me well, I used to be a pretty active member of the Final Fantasy XI community.  I played on Quetzalcoatl as “Valus” and eventually “Zalus” (long story)- here’s my old FFXIAH.com profile.  Gross.   At any rate, I was a BRD and DRK for a big endgame linkshell.  This theme ALWAYS got to me… it played during a very difficult and desperate battle against the Crystal Warriors.  To win, you needed 18 people…. perfectly organized for a massive fight.  Oh yes, the ol’ “wipe and reset” strategy of the level 75 days of FFXI.  I raise a glass to old friends and the memories of Vana’diel.

Track 5:  “Armed Boss” – Super Mario RPG – by Yoko Shimomura

(credit:  Andrew7654)

Don’t judge!  I’ve always liked this track.  Yes, it’s not really Shimomura’s best work… but it’s always got me pumped for battle.  It’s short and simple and utilizes a lot of the tricks that can be produced with the playback from the SNES.

Anyhow, thanks for listening!

About Classical Gaming

Steve Lakawicz holds an MM in Music Performance from Temple University as well as a BM in Tuba Performance from Rutgers University . His teachers include Paul Scott, Scott Mendoker, and Jay Krush. His love of video game music has lead him to form a blog, Classical Gaming, to promote discussion both casual and academic about the music of video games. He is the co-founder of the video game/nerd music chamber ensemble, Beta Test Music and regularly composes/performs chiptune music as Ap0c. He currently resides in Philadelphia where he teaches college statistics at Temple University. View all posts by Classical Gaming

Leave a Reply

