Interviews: Matt Uelmen on “Top Score”

It’s been a while since I’ve posted an interview that I’ve really liked.  Emily Reese’s interview of Matt Uelmen on Minnesota Public Radio somehow slipped through the cracks on me.  He’s one of my favorite composers.  His work in Diablo II still reminds me of my youth- hacking and slashing down Meph runs, getting my items stolen by people who said they were my friends, tricking people into thinking I was trading them a Shako when it was actually just a green hat, etc etc.  Not really great memories, I guess.  BUT MEMORIES ALL THE SAME.

I’ve mentioned his involvement with Torchlight II briefly in an older post and highlighted a small interview with him.  This interview, though, is really at length and really lets you hear what the composer has to say about his music.  It’s definitely worth listening to, even though it’s a couple months old.  It’s great to hear him list his influences and explain his tracks in detail.  He’s not just some composer who presses the buttons on his computer and makes sound.  I wasn’t surprised to hear that he knows a lot about theory.  His compositional technique seems really solid.

You can find the complete interview HERE.  It’s only about 17 minutes long.  Check it out and let me know what you think!  And I love that he’s a real nerd.

About Classical Gaming

Steve Lakawicz holds an MM in Music Performance from Temple University as well as a BM in Tuba Performance from Rutgers University . His teachers include Paul Scott, Scott Mendoker, and Jay Krush. His love of video game music has lead him to form a blog, Classical Gaming, to promote discussion both casual and academic about the music of video games. He is the co-founder of the video game/nerd music chamber ensemble, Beta Test Music and regularly composes/performs chiptune music as Ap0c. He currently resides in Philadelphia where he teaches college statistics at Temple University. View all posts by Classical Gaming

Leave a Reply

